At Hanning & Sacchetto, LLP, our Whittier auto accident attorneys know that all California drivers must carry the minimum vehicle insurance coverage or obtain proof of financial responsibility for a surety bond of $35,000.
Unfortunately, not everyone follows the law.
The Insurance Information Institute reported last year that an estimated 16.6% of all motorists in California are uninsured.
If you have been injured in a collision with an uninsured motorist in California, you may still be eligible to pursue an insurance company for your full financial recovery. The difference is, instead of pursuing the at-fault party’s coverage, you would pursue your own.
Our Los Angeles County auto accident attorneys can help remove the confusion from these unfair circumstances by pursuing your eligible uninsured motorist insurance coverage.
Am I Required to Carry Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage in California?
The minimum insurance requirements in California are:
- $5,000 property damage liability coverage
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury liability coverage
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage
Unfortunately, California does not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
The purpose of uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance coverage is to compensate you when you are injured due to the negligence of another driver who has the minimum coverage or is illegally operating their vehicle with no insurance at all.
If either of these circumstances pertains to your collision, our car accident lawyers in Arcadia and Whittier will explore your insurance policy for its underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage, so you are not left paying for your expenses out of pocket.
How Much Does Uninsured Motorist Coverage Cost?
Uninsured motorist insurance costs around $50-$75 annually for bodily injury and property damage coverage.
Uninsured motorist coverage is a small price to pay to protect a policyholder by paying for injuries or damage resulting from a car accident caused by a driver who does not have enough or any vehicle insurance.
Will Filing A Claim With My Auto Insurance Company Raise My Rates?
Car insurance rates often increase after a chargeable accident occurs in California, which may include moving violations, speeding, leaving the scene of an accident, or driving under the influence.
If you have been injured in a collision with an uninsured driver, California’s Proposition 103 forbids your insurance carrier from raising your insurance premiums, allowing you to bring an uninsured motorist claim without the worry of your insurance premiums increasing.
There are exceptions — including instances of fraud — but this legally binding precedent removes most of the hesitance motorists experience when filing a claim with their insurance provider.
Contact Our Experienced Auto Accident Attorneys in Whittier, California
If you have been injured in a vehicle collision with a motorist who is underinsured or uninsured, contact our skilled personal injury attorneys in Arcadia and Whittier, California at Hanning & Sacchetto today by calling (562) 698-6446 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your legal rights and options to pursue your insurance coverage for your full financial recovery.